A woman sets out on a cross-country road trip, unknowingly tracing in reverse the path her mother traveled thirty years before. In parallel tales, the three women -- Louise, Florrie, Ethel -- discover that not all journeys follow a map. As they rediscover their carefree selves on the road, they learn that sometimes the paths we follow are shaped more by our traveling companions than by our Continue Reading
If you like historical fiction set in Italy, take a look at this book. It's the story of a romance between Casanova (you know the one) and a teenage girl. Now a grown woman, Caterina is reminiscing about her whirlwind love with the famous romancer, reading her old letters from him and telling the teenage girl in her charge about it.Continue Reading
The Life and Deaths of Blanche Nero is a story that is both elegant and disturbing, meandering and fast-paced. It is a coming of age story, but not in your typical sense. Blanche is nearly sixty and staying in Venice writing out her life story. While there she is discovering who she is and who her father was. She is learning what love is, and that it isn't quite what she thought.Continue Reading
Written in pockets of memories, reading this book is like bouncing around someone's box of everyday trinkets, things kept for their personal significance, that, though seemingly random and unconnected, all somehow fit together into a compelling story of indomitable spirit.Continue Reading
I'm a sucker for audiobooks narrated by their authors. And this one is made absolutely amazing with Lauren adding her witty inflections to the already hilarious text. I felt like I was sitting with a friend in a coffee shop and laughing so much that my tea came out my nose and all the other patrons stared. That is how funny this book is. And it's all Lauren.Continue Reading
In this stunning thrill ride, perfect for fans of Dan Brown and Steve Berry, a long-lost manuscript, written for Elizabeth I, holds the key to unlocking the past and to eliminating the future. Lee Nicholson is ready to take the academic world by storm, having discovered a sonnet she believes was written by William Shakespeare. When she reads the poem on the air, the words put her life in Continue Reading