the bookshop on the corner by jenny colganBook: The Bookshop on the Corner
Author: Jenny Colgan
Published: September 20, 2016
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Genre: Romance, Women’s Fiction
Format: Print
Source: Airport Bookstore!

Synopsis

Nina Redmond is a librarian with a gift for finding the perfect book for her readers. But can she write her own happy-ever-after? In this valentine to readers, librarians, and book-lovers the world over, the New York Times-bestselling author of Little Beach Street Bakery returns with a funny, moving new novel for fans of Meg Donohue, Sophie Kinsella, and Nina George’s The Little Paris Bookshop.

Nina Redmond is a literary matchmaker. Pairing a reader with that perfect book is her passion… and also her job. Or at least it was. Until yesterday, she was a librarian in the hectic city. But now the job she loved is no more.

Determined to make a new life for herself, Nina moves to a sleepy village many miles away. There she buys a van and transforms it into a bookmobile—a mobile bookshop that she drives from neighborhood to neighborhood, changing one life after another with the power of storytelling.

From helping her grumpy landlord deliver a lamb, to sharing picnics with a charming train conductor who serenades her with poetry, Nina discovers there’s plenty of adventure, magic, and soul in a place that’s beginning to feel like home… a place where she just might be able to write her own happy ending. (Goodreads)

Amazon | Kobo | Audible | Indigo

My rating: 5 stars
I loved this book! It’s a must have.

Review

I needed  a pick me up. I was in the middle of a 23+ hour journey home consisting of three flights, multiple layovers and delays, and first trimester hormones and exhaustion. This book was exactly what I needed. 

Nina is sweet and snarky and completely lost. Her career has been her life and now her library no longer wants her. So, she decides to reinvent herself and move up to the middle of nowhere to make a go at being her own bookseller. Along the way, there are mishaps and misunderstandings, best friends and romance, comedy and empathy.

The Bookshop on the Corner is a sweet read, full of generosity and kindness. It will make you laugh and make you cry.

Women’s Fiction sometimes gets a bad rap. People say it’s fluffy or silly. The Bookshop on the Corner is neither of these things. It is smart, kind, challenges stereotypes, celebrates community and friendship, and tackles issues like poverty, competition, divorce, discrimination, first impressions, adultery, anger, fear, and sadness.

Jenny Colgan’s The Bookshop on the Corner is a delightful, comforting read. It gently spurs you to think while also giving exactly the feel-good read you need in rainy weather or tough times. I’m planning on reading anything else by Jenny Colgan that I can get my hands on.

trishajennreads' black glasses

  1. I adored this book!! It was my first Jenny Colgan and it made me fall in love with her. If you liked this one, try out The Little Beach Street Bakery – it’s great, too. The only thing that bugged me about this book is that her bookshop wasn’t actually on a corner. lol

Leave a Reply